Look to the Skies!!

Cloud (chemical) trails over DC.

As I was walking to work this morning, I looked up to notice several cloud trails in the sky. It seemed funny to see so many trails, but I didn’t think much about it until I found the article titled “Say, It Ain’t Snow” on page 7 of today’s Washington Express. Although I admit, I did not read the entire article, I was surprised to learn that only 19% of the U.S. was covered in snow as of this Thursday–an alarming statistic that is part of a nationwide snow drought.

High altitude jets streaming seeding the skys over DC.

Seeing this story, I thought back to the cloud trails in the sky and something in my mind clicked–cloud seeding! I remembered back to a few years ago to the frenzy of weather related news stories following insane storm season that brought us the likes of Hurricane Katrina. Most of the stories of course focused on the damage and lives lost caused by the storm, others tended to focus on the impact of global warming on weather patterns, but other more “fringe” type stories focused on something completely different–weather manipulation!

For years, the U.S. and other governments have experimented with altering weather patterns using cloud seeding by which they use high altitude planes to release chemicals into the atmosphere with the purpose of inducing rain or snow.

Without a doubt in my mind, this is why the planes were flying over D.C. today in an attempt to create the snow that mother nature has neglected to do. I have no proof of this, but hey, it’s my blog, so whatevs.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know your thoughts.

About ML

For the past 5 years I have been a resident of NE DC. I now own a home with my girlfriend in Brentwood. I created this blog to highlight some of the interesting things I've seen and done in and around parts of NE DC.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in DC, Weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment